Virtual Bookshelf 2023

December

Brutal Kunnin’

Mike Brooks

Yes, I know, more Warhammer. But this one was a great fun read for the end of the year. It seemed that the author didn’t quite have enough faith in the Orks as a protagonist, so threw an awful lot at them in terms of antagonists. Given the amount of death and destruction, there was also a strange amount left up in the air at the end of the book.

Horus Rising

Dan Abnett

Another Warhammer book, and one of the better ones. This never lost its edge for me, despite it being the first in a massive series. The relationships were set up well and evolved well, although there was a ‘twist’ at the end that I thought felt a little bolted on, intended to set up the next few books.

Leviathan Falls

James S A Corey

And so the Expanse ends. Strangely, this book felt calmer than the previous few in the series, despite the universe-ending dilemma faced. I felt the final act was a little obvious, but still, this was a satisfying end to a series that always flirted with cheesy moments but always seemed to be clever enough to side-step them.

City of Last Chances

Adrian Tchaikovsky

Amazing book (again) from Tchaikovsky. The characters may have all been similar to what one expects in a fantasy book, but the situation and the world are fantastic. Although by the end of things I was predicting the next turn, halfway through the book I was guessing where the story was going. Gods, magic and murder. Loved it.

November

A World Without Email

Cal Newport

Focusing on the cost of email (both as a social device and a tool), Newport makes a series of strong arguments for cutting back on it, as well as making some very good suggestions on how a workplace can work without it. His writing is very accessible and I’ve (hopefully) been able to put some of the ideas into practice already at work.

The Way of Kings (Book Two)

Brandon Sanderson

More of the below. It was an immense and very bloody end to the first volume. Sets up an awful lot, but - cleverly - doesn’t do this at the expense of the first story. I could easily part with the series here, should I wish. Although I won’t.

October

The Way of Kings (Book One)

Brandon Sanderson

More high-fantasy! A very big, very deep book. The level of detail here is fantastic, and the world is brilliantly realised and built. The level of ambition displayed here is brilliant, although I didn’t find all the characters as well-rounded as some of Sanderson’s other books.

September

The Business

Iain Banks

Something completely different. Modern, fast and a little weird, this is classic Banks. I love how he takes a strange concept and drives morality out of it. The decisions the lead is forced to make - both personal and political - are genuine nail-biters, and her amorality is set out early enough to make it clear that she could go either way.

Last Argument of Kings

Joe Abercrombie

I had to finish it, didn’t I? Chaos, bloodshed and no happy endings in the last book in this trilogy. There was so much going on here across such a massive scale, yet it was remarkably easy to plan out in my head. Favourite characters died, some survived who shouldn’t and a couple of tropes appeared. Still, I very much enjoyed it and am looking forward to picking up my next Abercrombie book.

August

Before they are Hanged

Joe Abercrombie

Another massive read, this kept me going for ages. The story now rattles along at quite a pace, and the three storylines are key to keeping interest over so many pages. I’ve now got favourite characters, not-so-favourite characters and ones I don’t like. However,r I have noticed that by this point in such a massive trilogy, the lack of detail on a big bad guy (motivations etc) can limit the sense of dread/conflict.

The Blade Itself

Joe Abercrombie

Picking up an entire trilogy in a charity shop is always a bonus, especially when it’s as good as this. The book really takes its time establishing the characters through action, and while some of the characters are a lot more interesting to start with than others, they come together in good time. My only concern is that I’m not sure what the consequences of the last few chapters of the book will have - although that might become clear by the time I’ve read the rest!

July

Dare to Lead

Brene Brown

I heard Brene on a podcast and when I saw this on an Amazon deal I wanted to pick it up, especially as I’m starting a new team at work. This book became a timely and positive influence on how I approached work, so I am looking forward to now getting a 'real’ version so I can scribble notes in the borders.

His Dark Materials - Northern Lights

Philip Pullman

Strange that I’ve never read these books, but, once I’d got used to the slightly more flamboyant and formal writing style I enjoyed these stories. Bad guys are everywhere, and Pullman ramps up the tension and the stakes, putting the lead character in some heartbreaking situations.

The Hero of Ages

Brandon Sanderson

The last in the initial Mistborn trilogy, this was a great ending, with a real focus on character development (as well as a lot of chopping people’s heads off). I think what I’ve learnt from these books is the importance of having really clear character objectives and beliefs. I started to understand how characters would react purely from how well they were written.

June

The Psychology of Money

Morgan Housel

Another quick read (setting me up for a monster of the next book!) I enjoyed looking through the different examples and plans in this book. Housel takes several different examples to examine what we are doing with our money and, just as importantly, why we are doing it.

The Summer Book

Tove Janson

A simply lovely book, which is likely to be my favourite of the year. Short stories all weave together to create a narrative of a little girl, hidden away from the world, watched over by her grandmother. It wasn’t difficult to find the themes of grief within the book, but also the wonder found by connecting and being a part of the environment around you.

May

Redshirts

John Scalzi

This is why people read authors they love. I’d heard about this before, but enjoyed this book – although I had a feeling I would after reading Scalzi’s book earlier in the year. Heartwarming, chaotic and utterly, utterly mad.

The Moose Paradox

Antti Tuomainen

I love these books. Nothing else can have the same level of threat, impossibility and suspense, only to have it all solved by smart thinking and strong mathematical fortitude. Highly recommended, and although I think I know how the final book in the series is going to go… I’m expected to be proved wrong!

Antti Tuomainen

The First Heretic

Aaron Dembski-Bowden

This was a long read. Although the characters were fantastic and a bit mad, the story was great. The only issue was the length – by the end, I was reading to get to the end, which was a bit disappointing. I wonder how much could have been chopped out.

Aaron Dembski-Bowden

April

I Will Teach You To Be Rich

Ramit Sethi

This fellow has an interesting turn of phrase. Still, the advice within was useful with actionable takeaways and clear reasons for his recommendations. Strangely, I picked this book up after it was recommended by a stock image email. Very odd route, but shows that word of mouth is very important!

Ramit Sethi

The Final Empire

Brandon Sanderson

I’m a huge fan of Sanderson and this – his first novel in an ambitious series – was a great read. I love the way he creates and inhabits worlds with living, vivid characters. 

Brandon Sanderson

The Daves Next Door

Will Carver

A move away from my usual reading to this mind-bending crime/thriller. Deeper than the title might suggest, I came away thinking about the book and what it was trying to say. Although not as twisty-turny as it first appears, still a very good read.

Will Carver

March

The Fall of Koli

M.R Carey

Finally got to the end of this fantastic trilogy. It's more playing with sci-fi tropes by one of the most accessible writers I’ve come across. It may have taken me three years to read this trilogy, but the characters were so strong it took me no time at all to catch up with them. I thought it was interesting that the supporting character (Spinner) took more of the centre stage in the latter half of the book. 

M.R Carey

Ready Player Two

Ernest Cline

Halfway through reading the below, I saw this in the library – so I thought why not? I found the premise of this a little more contrived, the story evolved well throughout and by the end I was hooked.  

Ernest Cline

Ready Player One

Ernest Cline

I’ve not seen the film – but I will do after reading this. An incredibly clever book, an 80’s film wrapped up in a novel, with a few comments on society scattered throughout. Well-written and strong characterisation throughout really kept the story ticking along.

Ernest Cline

February

The Kaiju Preservation Society

John Scalzi

I rattled through this in a couple of days. Very easy to read, very cheesy and silly, with plot holes all over the place, this nevertheless was the most fun I’ve had with a book in a while. I do wish the author had taken a little more time with the book and dug into things a bit more – but hey, bills to pay!

John Scalzi

Digital Minimalism

Cal Newport

Continuing my trend of self-help and productivity, I picked this up. While the idea is drawn out a little bit, the analysis of social media and how it impacts us struck home. It’s also very clear and easy to read.

Cal Newport

Spear of the Emperor

Aaron Dembski-Bowden

This is the pinnacle of the Warhammer books I’ve read to date. Strong characters (some stronger than others) and ridiculous violence. There was a really clear theme throughout this book of identity and renewal, which puts it about other Warhammer stuff.

Aaron Dembski-Bowden

Agent Sonya

Ben Macintyre

Another fantastic book. This one I think I preferred this one to the last one, as the story seemed a lot more human. Rattles along at a furious pace, covering a huge amount of information. What I liked about this was that it didn’t explain things – knowledge of WW2 is required to get the best from the book.

Ben Macintyre

January

Shadowsword

This month’s final Warhammer book! This was a little more human than the others (on account of it being about humans). The ending was rather gruesome, but that’s the requirement of the genre, I suppose…

Guy Haley

The Successors

Various

The second in this month’s trio of Warhammer reading – this was probably the most difficult to get into, but it allowed me to see the kind of thing that I’d need to write to get started with this stuff. Short, sometimes confusing stories, all very based on lore and a little odd. But that’s what’s needed!

Games Workshop

Deathwatch

Steve Parker

The first in what is likely to be a lot of Warhammer books this year. This was a charity shop bargain and I couldn’t resist. However, it took a longer time to get going than other Warhammer books – the horrific violence took second fiddle to the introduction of the main characters of Talon Squad

Steve Parker